Author Ashley Ludwig's Recession Home

From sweet to romantic suspense, join me as I craft my happily ever after…

Tangled Decorations: Up Close! Sun Bunting “Pennant” Flags

I’ve had many requests for the Tangled Birthday Party Sun Bunting or Pennant flags — here are ours…

Disney Rapunzel Pennant Bunting, hanging outside

String them everywhere, to create your own Tangled Kingdom!

We made ours out of cloth, not paper as SuperMom suggested — she had the template and the idea…which, of course, I took the idea and ran with. How could you not?? Look!!!

Rapunzel Sun Bunting - Pennant Flags

Rapunzel Sun Bunting - Pennant Flags - out of Paper

As I said, it’s money spent on purple printer ink (red + blue + yellow = PRICEY!) or cloth, which with a 40 or 50% off coupon, would end up being rather inexpensive… and I took her idea and ran with it! (with a little help from my friends!)  and here is how we did it:

1. I collected coupons for JoAnn’s Fabrics —  (If that link is expired, this one should have a coupon from www.CouponCabin.com good for 40-50% off…)

2. Visited JoAnn’s store to find the best (cheapest) fabric, in THE Rapunzel colors of purple and gold, for our recreation of the kingdom.

3. Selected 2 yards of gold, and about 4 of the royal purple.

4. To slice the gold banding, my friend Bonnie used her quilt cutter, and made 1 1/2 inch strips of gold fabric for me.

5. Meanwhile, I went to town cutting the pennant triangles — folding the fabric over, and using the paper template from SuperMom’s party.

6. While Bonnie simple stitched the flag banners to the strips… (that means just setting the flag and stitching each one about an inch or two apart)…

7. I found a “sun” die-cut template in a certain workroom, and volunteered some extra time at school to make use of cutting out about 100 suns on my own goldenrod paper. You could cut them out by hand, but wow. I have carpal tunnel to begin with…

8. Once I received the banner strips from Bonnie, I sat down with my favorite TV show while the kids were at school, and used Fabric Glue to secure the paper suns to the pennants.

Suns on Tangled Pennants

Suns on Tangled Pennants

7. Final Result! We hung from every window in the house, draped over the table, and across the mantle.

Tangled Pennant Flags

Tangled Pennant Flags in Purple and Gold

What would you do with yours?

By the way, I’ve got about 10 strands left, if anyone needs them… let me know!

~Ashley

9 comments on “Tangled Decorations: Up Close! Sun Bunting “Pennant” Flags

  1. Jennie Hempstead
    May 13, 2011

    I would love the extra strands if you still have them!

  2. ashley
    May 13, 2011

    Send me your e-mail address… and I’ll happily see what I’ve got for you!!

  3. Christie
    June 23, 2011

    Wish I would have seen this sooner, would have loved to have those!

  4. Ashley Ludwig
    July 24, 2011

    We’re redesigning our pennant flags in my etsy store… come over and take a look!

    ~http://www.etsy.com/shop/ashleyludwig?ref=si_shop

    Ashley

  5. Pingback: Make Your Own Maximus – Things to Do While Planning A Tangled Party « Recession Home

  6. candace
    March 3, 2012

    Hi, I am interested in these banners (SUPER CUTE) for my daughter’s party. Do you have any left?

  7. billie buchanan
    March 20, 2012

    Really great idea intrested in this idea for my daughters birthday party in may she is rapunzel mad!x

  8. Ruth santos
    October 2, 2012

    Hi ,

    Do you still have the yard left over? Throwing my daughter a bday party this nov and super budget really hard on how to fulfill everything can you give me tips ?

    Thank you

    Ruth santos

Leave a Reply

Grapevine Media…

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

