Author Ashley Ludwig's Recession Home

From sweet to romantic suspense, join me as I craft my happily ever after…

Etsy Shopkeeper – Pinterest Worthy Board of the Day

tea2

Etsy shop keepers stock their shelves with trinkets and vintage items, as well as handcrafted goodies like you see above… and I adore browsing the stock available for sale, imagining the musty dankness of Mammoth Spring antique stores, where I spent many a summer day.

One such store, is the simply divine: Crafty Sara – who is our shop of the day. Take a look at these adorable vintage games!  Plus, Puzzletown… which I STILL HAVE from my childhood. Talk about walking down memory lane. Take a peek at this…

Puzzletown by Richard Scary… something my daughters still play with, from my childhood!

She’s our store of the week to be celebrated in typical Recession Home Style…

Welcome, Sara! Tell us a little bit about yourself!

I have always loved yardsaling and thrifting, since I learned the value of a dollar at a young age. Now I can use my experience to connect buyers to items that they treasure.

That’s marvelous. My favorite items are the (eek!) “VINTAGE” 1980s books, games, and so many others. It’s like browsing through my history! Can you share with us how your store started?

I started selling online because I hosted a yard sale that I lost money on due to Hurricane Ivan’s rain. A few years later I tried again, with the same result. My patient husband made me promise to never have another yard sale and focus on what was working! Since then I have started seeking treasures more often and learning about what items my customers truly look for.

Treasure hunting is a favorite hobby of mine, as well. How has your knowledge of treasure seeking helped others?

I have branched out to helping local people sell items from loved one’s estates. It is rewarding to show value to special pieces of a family’s history. Etsians are fun to work with and I love the personal messages about memories my shop brings back for them.

That’s one of the best parts of Etsy–this feeling of community. Well done! Can you show us some of your favorite items?

Here are some featured items from Crafty Sara!

Thank you so much for sharing. It’s wonderful to know you, and I can’t wait to keep hunting around your shop!

~Ashley

Vintage 1970s costume. Pattern is complete, uncut and in factory folds dated 1974. Simplicity 6787: Dress, cap shawl:

Two of my favorites! These are the weekly reader I can read edition of Sammy the Seal and Little Bear. Both are hardcover without dust covers in very good condition. There is slight wear to covers and a glue mark inside Sammy, but clean pages and over all very nice condition. Great for the collector or Grandma’s house!

1980s vintage Pound Puppy set

Great instant collection of 1950′s melamine dishes! This listing includes everything pictured- pink cream and sugar set with lid by Marcrest Melmac

2 comments on “Etsy Shopkeeper – Pinterest Worthy Board of the Day

  1. dweinberg415
    April 9, 2013

    Thanks! Love those lanterns!

    • Ashley Ludwig
      April 9, 2013

      Thank you so much, as well!! I’ve been making them for years, now… and though they are just paper and glue, they can be magical.
      As for the store of the day? My daughter is angling for the pound puppies!! We’ll see how much she earned from our last little yard sale!

Leave a Reply

Grapevine Media…

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

