Author Ashley Ludwig's Recession Home

From sweet to romantic suspense, join me as I craft my happily ever after…

St. Patrick’s Day–Making Corned Beef Boxty @ RecessionHome

One of my hubby And my favorite places to go out is the local pub, Killarney’s. Nothing says “date night” like Irish nachos (fries with cheess and bacon bits), corned beef boxty, and a pint of Harp!

This is a Boxty... don't you want one?

Still, this year, most of our going out money is going to the gas tank! and, after shopping out the grocery store, I found inspiration in sale priced corned beef and a bag of potatoes.

Seriously, for less than $10.00, I was determined to try out an Irish meal fit for a king.

Or, at least, my hard working hubby.

But, then, I had a beautifully crock pot cooked Corned Beef, and…a pot full of very crock pot looking vegetables. It wasn’t very pretty, I’m afraid.

So, what to do with it? What do we order when we eat corned beef out at Killarney’s?

Why, Boxty of course.

I searched online for the best recipe i could find, and by that I mean, one with ingredients I had on hand, that looked EASY to whip up. They’re just pancakes, after all, right? Pancakes made out of potatoes.

Basically, in the recipe below, 4 oz equals about a cup. I’d use a little less potato next time, and a little more buttermilk.

I added a bit more salt to the Boxty batter, and made my own buttermilk with lemon juice. Have you ever made buttermilk? It’s actually reasonably priced, but I use it only a few times a year, and never have any on hand when I need it.

The site recommended, if you don’t have use for much, make your own.

I felt so very clever.

Also, I didnt have cream for the sauce, so I had to use milk–not my preference but you’ve gotta use what you have!

Turned out good, but even half-in-half would be delish.

Here is to Darina, and a meal that caught my hubby’s attention.

Darina Allen’s Boxty Pancakes

  • 4 ounces freshly cooked potatoes
  • 4 ounces peeled raw potatoes
  • 4 ounces (a generous 3/4 cup) white flour
  • 1/8 tsp. baking powder
  • 4 to 6 fluid ounces buttermilk (see note)
  • Pinch of salt
  • Butter, for frying

To make traditional Irish boxty, the Irish chef suggests peeling the cooked potatoes while they are still hot. I did this in the microwave for 10 minutes. Then drop into a bowl and mash immediately. No problemo.

Grate the raw potatoes — My daughter asked why I was making hash browns for dinner, and she was right! this is how hash browns are made! Add to the mashed potatoes with the sifted flour and baking powder. Mix well, and add enough buttermilk to make a stiff batter. Looking at the pancake above, I’d still say mine were a little too thick.

Heat a frying pan, grease with butter and cook two large pancakes in the usual way. In lots of BUTTER.

Note: If you hate buying a big carton of buttermilk only to throw most of it away, you can make your own by adding one tablespoon white vinegar or lemon juice to a cup of milk. Let sit for five minutes. (Again, I used lemon juice, and it worked awesome.)

****Mustard Sauce****

  • 1/2 cup Chardonnay wine, good enough to drink — don’t have to tell me twice!
  • 3 tbs. minced onion
  • 2 tbs. Dijon mustard, or 1 tbs. Dijon and 1 tbs. Irish mustard (whole grain mustard spiked with Guinness)
  • 1 cup heavy cream (Next time. For SURE).
  • Chopped fresh parsley to taste
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Combine the Chardonnay and onion in a medium saucepan over medium-high heat. Bring to a boil and cook until the wine is reduced to one tablespoon, about three minutes. Reduce the heat to medium, add the mustard and swirl to blend. Add the cream and simmer until reduced and thickened enough to coat the back of a spoon (two to three minutes). Add parsley, stir to blend, and remove from the heat. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Cover to keep warm until ready to serve.

I also heated strips of corned beef in melted butter, prior to filling the boxty, then drizzled sauce over, and rolled them. They look like wraps when you’re done. Big wraps. Manly, Irish wraps.

And, the result?

My hubby ate two, declared them delicious, and he just might not mind if we have this again with a few pints of Harp on St. Patrick’s day…

One comment on “St. Patrick’s Day–Making Corned Beef Boxty @ RecessionHome

  1. Pingback: Beef boxty | Kaokaokao

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 12, 2011 by in Cooking, St. Patrick's Day.

Grapevine Media…

