Author Ashley Ludwig's Recession Home

From sweet to romantic suspense, join me as I craft my happily ever after…

Valentine’s Quickie Project – Wreath out your front door with Love this Valentine’s Day

Here’s a redux from last year! Found more of the same from Walmart, for $1.75

….. The Valentine’s Quickie Wreath project…

It’s not what you’re thinking.

The other day, I had a little kitchen money left over from the end of the week. My youngest and I ventured to K-Mart to look over the end of Christmas sales and see what we could get for 90% off. Seriously. It’s January and they’re having 90% off Christmas decorations. Way to get ready for the Ho-Ho-Holiday for next year! Still, it’s almost Valentine’s day, and I never, ever have decorated for the happy heart day that heralds both my husband and my oldest daughter’s birthdays. And I love to decorate. SO, maybe I had Valentine’s on the brain as I was looking through broken ornaments, tattered garland, and ratty little trees. Perhaps we should have come out when it was 75% off, I was thinking.

We turned a corner. What I saw, I couldn’t believe. Pink and red shiny garland. In Christmas wrappings. For 90% off. It was originally 6.99. That means .69? For a broad swath of very Valentine looking garland? I can work with that, I thought, and shoved it in my cart.

We got home and I thought, mantle? No. I’m copying a friend of mine with her scrabble-esque I Love You frames. Draping it anywhere else just seemed cheesy. What I wanted was a door hanger. So, here’s what we did.

  • Wire from the garage.
  • Glue gun.
  • Garland.
  • Ribbon from my endless craft supplies.
  • A heart to make it happen.

Garland!

Tools!

Funky Wire Heart Frame!


4 comments on “Valentine’s Quickie Project – Wreath out your front door with Love this Valentine’s Day

  1. Kelly Dickerson
    January 25, 2011

    Adorable!!

  2. Nicolette Lawrence
    January 25, 2011

    Cute!

  3. Ashley Ludwig
    January 27, 2011

    Thanks, guys!

  4. Pingback: Wreath Out – with Birthday Cheer! « Recession Home

Leave a Reply

Grapevine Media…

